Alumni Book Club Discussion

The Hofstra University Alumni Book Club will discuss The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict at the January meeting on Sunday, January 13, 2019 at 11 a.m. in Libby and Joseph G. Shapiro Alumni House.

Book description: In the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein offers us a window into a brilliant, fascinating woman whose light was lost in Einstein's enormous shadow. It is the story of Einstein's wife, a brilliant physicist in her own right, whose contribution to the special theory of relativity is hotly debated and may have been inspired by her own profound and very personal insight. Mitza Maric has always been a little different from other girls. Most twenty-year-olds are wives by now, not studying physics at an elite Zurich university with only male students trying to outdo her clever calculations. But Mitza is smart enough to know that, for her, math is an easier path than marriage. And then fellow student Albert Einstein takes an interest in her, and the world turns sideways. Theirs becomes a partnership of the mind and of the heart, but there might not be room for more than one genius in a marriage. Source: Amazon.com

 

January Book Club Flyer

Date: Sunday, January 13, 2019

Time: 11 a.m.

Location: Libby and Joseph G. Shapiro Alumni House

 

 

To join the Alumni Book Club or for more information, please contact the Alumni Affairs Office at (516) 463-6636 or Sandra.J.Lombino@Hofstra.edu

Sunday, January 13, 2019

Categories:

Location:

Alumni House - Libby and Joseph G. Shapiro
Shapiro Alumni House
Hofstra University
Hempstead, NY 11549
USA


Contact:

Alumni Affairs Office

Phone: 516-463-6636
Website: Click to Visit

S M T W T F S
    01 02 03 04 05
06 07 08 09 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31    
english
Submit Your Hofstra Event
PARKING NOTICE

Hofstra University is pleased to have the public join us for some of our on-campus events, which are held for the benefit of our students. Please be aware, when attending events during the school year, when classes are in session, parking is often limited on South Campus to faculty and students. There is additional parking available on North Campus, approximately a 10-minute walk from Adams Playhouse, through the Student Center and over the unispan. Thank you for your cooperation.
Featured Events
Newest Events
Theme: